Climbing the frame

I decided to train my drawing skillz, so from now on I will upload a new sketch at least once a week. Next to the sketch I’ll try to publish 2 underlying layers. I hope they are interesting enough.

In this one I tried to have a bit more fun with the frame, and not just have it as a backdrop. I really like comics in which the artist plays with the medium. On one side you have Herge’s Tintin; the frames are consistent throughout the entire comic..no comicseries. And on the other side of the spectrum you could find someone like Hanco Kolk. A dutch artist who constantly experiments with his style and the framing.

200715a
Above was my first sketch of S8i hanging/climbing on something. I didn’t really have a back story for this one. Just wanted to draw her climbing. Climbing positions have a whole set of difficulties. I have to draw the face from a weird angle, and use a little bit of forced perspective.
200715b
When I started to put down the lines I noticed in the sketch she seems to have very small hips. So I had to rotate the leg closed to the viewer in order to change that.
200715
And there is the colored version.

Leave a Reply

