F500

wpid-wp-1441884391494.jpg

A drawing I made inspired by Hayao Miyazaki’s Lupin III: the Castle of Cagliostro. I’m trying to learn how to draw properly. Have good character models, hard surface models (car), backgrounds and effects like smoke or clouds.

Layout

wpid-wp-1441884391521.jpgBefore trying to draw anything I like to know what I’m making. So I put my rough ideas on ‘paper’. Road, Car, mountains…note that I didn’t think about adding S8i untill later.  Also the billboard is something I added in at a later stage. Her hair fell flat against the background so  I had to frame it somehow.

Fiat Cinquecento

Of course an homage to Cagliostro. The chase scene in that cartoon is marvelous. Full of action, humor and consistent animation. Hayao Miyazaki knows his vehicles; planes, cars and even walking castles.

I used a method I learned from Thomas Romain. Known for the backgrounds in code Lyoko and Oban Star-racers. A couple of very nice animated series, especially Oban. I saw a post on Tumblr where he explained his workprocess. There is also a book on his work: ‘lost in animation’. The moment I know where and how to get is…I’ll update this post.

He had some tips when you want to draw something ‘complicated’ in perspective. He started out by drawing the object from the side.

wpid-wp-1441439691744.jpg

So there ya go, a Fiat500 from the side. Then he manipulated the image so it looked like it’s in perspective. Just screw, warp or change the dimensions. It’s really easy in GIMP, I guess same goes for other drawing applications.

wpid-wp-1441439688771.jpg

So…there ya go again. Of course this still isn’t enough. Next do the same thing with the other side (the backside).  I have to admit; I was too lazy to do so. Besides I didn’t really think the backside was so complicated. So I just sketched the entire car on top of this one.

wpid-wp-1441439702695.jpg

I always lower the opacity to so I can draw the ‘line art’ on a new layer on top, without being distracted too much.

wpid-wp-1441439679812.jpg

This layer is the definitive one. I like to keep my work a little bit sketchy. So much is lost in using perfect lines.

wpid-wp-1441885293014.jpg

In the end all the hardsurface elements will be made in Blender, but I want them to look like a 2d object.  Maybe rotoscoping, maybe some good cellshaders.

Mountains

I really like the work of: Kazuo Oga known for a lot of the Ghibli movie backgrounds. Also a huge fan of the artwork shown in Rime. I’m still trying to figure out who is the one responsible for those great backgrounds.

I can only say I still have a lot to learn about drawing backgrounds. The line-art is no problem for me. But coloring it, making it believable…THAT is the challenge.

wpid-wp-1441884662939.jpg

So this is a learning moment: I know I have to improve the way I draw trees, mountains…well backgrounds in general.

S8i

The character was already designed. I drew these kind of clothes for the first time though, wanted to give her more of a vacation feel. Although it was somewhat difficult to find an interesting pose: I actually wanted to tell a story. Failed of course, and came up with a more traditional position. So here she’s just resting on the car.

(picture of character in outfit, and color choices).

The first version had her leaning like this:

wpid-wp-1441439698687.jpg wpid-wp-1441884662936.jpg

wpid-wp-1441884662937.jpg

But somehow It just doesn’t work. A: she’s too big.  S8i wouldn’t fit into the car. B: it’s a bit boring. I always have the problem that I can’t spot the problem after I’ve drawn something. I have to step away for a couple of hours/days.

A couple of days later…

OK I revisited the picture. And yeah, she’s way too big, and I just don’t like her pose. She just stands there. Being observed. It feels wrong to me. That’s why I gave her something to carry, some idol she’s holding.

But you already knew that. The picture on top is posed different, and she’s smaller.

Hope you enjoyed my stuff.

2 thoughts on “F500”

Leave a Reply

