Dragon Riding

One of the first drawings I did with S8i was this one. I sketched it out rather quickly in my booklet. It’s a small book I carry around with me all the time; you never know when a ‘good’ idea pops up. I’ll make a post on my booklet some other time.

pagina logo

And below is a colored version. I have a lot of different versions.

pagina logo2

Then one day I learned of an exposition of Brandon Graham’s work in Amsterdam. I read a comic of his: KingCity. And that was actually the inspiration for making my own story. His comic was drawn in a clear and not overly complicated way (but simplicity within comics is tricksy and much harder then it looks! Just think of Herge’s work, or other ‘Klare Lijn’ stuff). I thought…maybe I could do what he did. Of course I failed epic. I just emulated his style in the beginning; and that always reads as a knock off. Anyway…He was so kind to make his own version of my dragon riding S8i:

brandon graham walrussketch1

I cleaned the line art…which in GIMP means: erased all the stuff you don’t want to show.

brandon graham S8i sketch line

And I added color. Hopefully in a way Brandon Graham does in his comics.

brandon graham sketch color

You can see his work here: Royalboiler.

Leave a Reply

