Background check

Here my progress in drawing a background. I really love setdesigns, and wish to get better at it. But I have to make use of cheap trickery to make my work look like anything at all. roadtrip1.4

My initial sketch. A road through a landscape…in case you can’t read my sketch.

roadtrip1.3

Then the actual line-art. I just fleshed out my sketch. Adding detail, changing horizons. Playing god in my own little make believe world.

roadtrip1.2

Then the colorflats. Well, I put some degree of color variation in them. Some speckles and the occasional shadow. And then the cheap tricks start.

roadtrip1.1

I put a lightsource in the scene itself. The sun. Next to that a gradient, red. From top to bottom.

roadtrip1

And then I put in two dark parts at the top and bottom, just to fake some sort of panoramic view.

My work isn’t as good as other backgroundartists….hell. I’m just an amateur. I want to make the backgrounds to be more cinematic. No blackoutlines for example. I’ll put up more.

Enjoy.

2 thoughts on “Background check”

Leave a Reply

