Background sketch(up)

After a long break I decided to draw something again. But I wanted to try a new thing. So I made ‘textures’. The goal was to make a background which is easy to modify. Below are my textures used in the scene.

These are some of the drawings for a slum like neighborhood. Similar to Kowloon. I drew these in GIMP. So they are ease to manipulate. Next step was to make it 3D. Or more 2,5D. I wrote down the dimensions made cubes…and started sticking the  textures on sketchup models.

testscenekl

Above are two buildings made from 3 cubes. The 2 for the buildings and one extra for the ‘150’ sign. The 150 has no particular relevance.

And below one with a character. Please don’t mind her face. Like I said, I haven’t been drawing for a long time. Also I put in some silhouettes of buildings in the far background. But it still wasn’t coming togheter.

testsceneckl

Some of my test scenes. In the second one I put in an extra layer, white. I got the feeling the buildings where compeding with the character. Even though S8i (character’s name) was in color. The scenes are okay, but not exactly what I wanted. They are still too much like painted boxes.

storyboard b15

Especially if you compare these to my earlier work on a (very unprofessional) storyboard. Even when I spiced up the scene with multiple buildings and a different viewpoint the scene wasn’t what I wanted. I think I doesn’t look bad though…just not good enough.

2 building test2kl

So next time when I’m going to make a background, I will probably make a model in Blender. With more parts sticking out of the box. Clothing drying in the sun, round waterdrains and airconditionings hanging from the side.

Hope you enjoy, and I’m open for suggestions or questions.

Leave a Reply

