Blender test week two

So my tests in Blender are getting somewhat addicting. I can’t wait to get home from work, just to exercise in 3D modeling and sculpting.  The idea of working in Blender was to have a tool to make backgrounds. 3D backgrounds to a 2D animation…of sorts.

Then last week I made a donut…..just to get my bearings around Blender.

So this week I followed another tutorial. Again by Andrew Price. See here to follow the tutorial yourself. I made this….a building. The same building as in the tutorial.

The tutorial is pretty good to follow, except for a couple of small actions he doesn’t explain. But then again, I think this tutorial is for more experienced Blenderers. At one point when making the railing he omits to tell how to disconnect the copied part from the array. It took me over two hours to find out what happened. But in general I’m very gratefull for his tutorials.

Just look at his website for more tutorials in making 3D objects (mostly for architecture).

Now I’m learning a bit more on modeling organic material. But after that I will probably return to modeling buildings and environments. And later on how to use textures, homebrew textures.

When I was in China with my wife I took the following pictures. I think it’s a good idea to try my hand at those. These buildings are a bit more like my concepts.

I like the second last building the best. It has a real feel to it.

Leave a Reply

